Conservation Force Leaders Recognized

Three of Conservation Force's Board of Directors have been recognized once again, demonstrating the caliber of the Board and all that the members do around the world.

Founding Board member Dr. James Teer has been chosen to the Texas Hall of Fame. A book could be written about all that he has achieved. In fact, his autobiography is to be published in June. We will keep readers advised.

Shane Mahoney has been selected to receive Safari Club International's Conservation of the Year Award at its May awards program in Washington, D.C. Shane will be the third Board member of Conservation Force to receive this truly prestigious award. Dr. James Teer and Dr. Bart O'Gara, both founding members of Conservation Force, have received the award in the past.

Yours truly received The President's Award for 2008 from the Guide and Outfitters Association of British Columbia in Victoria, B.C. during the GOABC's annual conference. It was awarded for more than a decade of work and commitment on issues from grizzly bear hunting to representation of GOABC at CITES conferences around the world. The inscription on the statue reads: "Against the Wind – President's Award for 2008. Awarded Annually to Recognize an Outstanding Contribution to Wildlife Stewardship and to the Guide Outfitting Industry in British Columbia." This is the fourth such award yours truly has received from a professional hunters association and the second in five months, the last being the Conservationist of the Year Award from the Namibian Professional Hunters Association on the other side of the world. Conservation Force receives support from ten professional hunters associations around the world and partners with many others. That confidence, support and encouragement is rewarding/awarding in itself. We are all a greater force for conservation because of that partnering.